Theft charges are governed by chapter 812 of the Florida Statutes. Theft charges can be charged as either felonies or as misdemeanors. Whether or not your theft charge is charged as a felony or a misdemeanor typically depends on the value of the property alleged to be stolen. If the value is less than $300, in most cases the charge will be a misdemeanor. If the value is greater than $300 the charge will likely be a felony.
You may have defenses to your theft charge. In order to convict you of a theft charge the State must prove that you knowingly obtained the property alleged to be stolen with the intent to deprive the owner of that property.
Both the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office and the Key West Police Department aggressively pursue theft cases. If you have been arrested for a theft charge, contact the experienced Florida Keys Criminal Defense Attorneys at the Key West Law Office of Robertson & Hunter, LLP for a consultation regarding your theft case today.